

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

# 13th ANNUAL PIAA COMPETITIVE SPIRIT CHAMPIONSHIPS RECAP

MECHANICSBURG - The 2025 PIAA Competitive Spirit Championships took place at the Santander Arena in Reading, PA. This was the 13th PIAA Competitive Spirit Championship, hosted for the first time in Reading. Over a two-day period, teams competed in the 2A Small Division, 2A Large Division, 3A Small Division, 3A Large Division and Co-Ed Division. The event had 120 squads competing to become a PIAA Champion. Below are the results of this year's competition.

#### **2A SMALL DIVISION**

The 2A Small Division had 26 squads take the mats. It was a battle down to the wire between Richland HS and Forest Hills HS. Richland HS just narrowly edged out Forest Hills HS, scoring 75.93 points and 75.70 points. This is Richland HS' first 2A Small Division Title.

Five schools have been crowned PIAA champions, with the 2A Small Division being established in 2021: Bishop McCort HS (2023) and previously won three 3A Medium Division titles before the 2A Division was established, Lansdale Catholic High School (2021 and 2022), Greater Johnstown (2024) and Richland HS (2025).

Finalists: Richland HS, Forest Hills HS, United HS, Bishop McCort HS, Southern Columbia HS, Milton Area HS, Bethlehem Catholic HS, Hampton HS, Central Valley and Ambridge HS.

# **2A LARGE DIVISION**

The 2A Large Division saw 15 teams battle for a title. Neshannock HS jumped back to the top team in the state after winning back-to-back titles in 2022 and 2023. In the finals, Neshannock HS was the only team to score above 80 points, scoring 80.87 points as they went on to capture their third title. Hickory HS were the runners-up, scoring 75.13 points.

Three schools have won 2A Large Division Championships, with the division established in 2021: Bishop McCort (2021), Neshannock (2022-23, 2025) and Archbishop Ryan HS (2023).

Finalists: Neshannock HS, Hickory HS, Wilson Area, Karns City HS and Montoursville

# **3A SMALL DIVISION**

Area HS.

The 3A Small Division had 40 squads take the mats during the competition. Another close competition between Thomas Jefferson HS and South Fayette HS. Thomas Jefferson HS won their very first 3A Small Division Title, scoring 88.50 points. The two-time champs, South Fayette HS, were the runners-up, scoring 87.10 points.

Thomas Jefferson became the ninth team to win a 3A Small Division Title: Greater Butler Area HS (2013 and 2016), Johnstown HS (2014), Pine Richland HS (2015), Bethel Park HS (2017, 2019), Shaler Park HS (2018), South Fayette HS (2020, 2021), Garnet Valley HS (2022, 2023), Cumberland Valley HS (2024) and Thomas Jefferson (2025).

Finalists: Thomas Jefferson HS, South Fayette HS, Garnet Valley HS, Springfield HS, Penn Trafford HS, Easton Area HS, Central York HS, Dallastown HS, Pennsbury HS, Northampton HS, Central Dauphin East HS, and Greater Johnstown Area HS.

#### **3A LARGE DIVISION**

The 3A Large Division had 21 squads competing for a PIAA title. Cumberland Valley HS was the only team to surpass 90 points, scoring 90.43 points to take the 3A Large Division Title. Haverford HS were the runners-up, scoring 88.17 points in their second-place finish.

Eight different teams have won 3A Large Division Championships: Cumberland Valley (2013-15, 2017, 2020, 2025 and won a 3A Small title in 2024), Springfield HS (2016), Bishop McCort HS (2018), Garnet Valley HS (2019), Saint Hubert HS (2021 and won back-to-back 3A Medium titles in 2018-19), and Hempfield Area (2022-23).

Finalists: Cumberland Valley HS, Haverford HS, Saint Hubert Catholic HS, Norwin HS, Hempfield Area HS, Seneca Valley HS and Archbishop Ryan HS.

## **CO-ED DIVISION**

The Co-Ed Division saw 18 squads competing for a PIAA Title. Butler HS was able to get back on the top spot of the podium after defeating the defending champs, McDowell HS. In their gold medal performance, Bulter HS scored 84.33 points and on the road to a silver medal performance, McDowell Hs scored 79.93 points to be crowned runners-up.

Four teams have won Co-Ed Division Titles: New Oxford HS (2014-16 but also won a 3A Medium Division title the inaugural season in 2013), McDowell HS (2017-18, 2021-2022), Bulter Area HS (2019, 2023, 2025) and Downingtown West HS (2020).

Finalist: Butler HS, McDowell HS, Downingtown West HS, Conrad Weiser HS, East Stroudsburg South HS and Strath Haven HS.

For a complete list of results: <a href="http://www.piaa.org/sports/championship">http://www.piaa.org/sports/championship</a> details.aspx?sport=cheer

Media Contact: Lyndsay A. Barna, 717-697-0374 or lbarna@piaa.org

Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association, Inc. 550 Gettysburg Road \* P.O. Box 2008 Mechanicsburg, PA (800) 382-1392 \* (717) 697-0374 www.piaa.org