

#### **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:**

# 51st ANNUAL PIAA BOYS' SOCCER/32ND GIRLS' SOCCER CHAMPIONSHIPS

MECHANICSBURG - The 2024 PIAA Boys' and Girls' Soccer Championships are scheduled to be contested at Eagle View Stadium on the campus of Cumberland Valley School District on Friday, November 15, 2024, and Saturday, November 16, 2024. This facility possesses a first class artificial turf and a multimillion dollar scoreboard.

This is the 51<sup>st</sup> PIAA Boys' Soccer Championships and the 32<sup>nd</sup> Girls' Soccer Championships. Boys' soccer stayed a single classification for 11-seasons. In 1985, boys' soccer expanded to two classifications and expanded two more times: In 2000, it expanded to three classifications, and then again in 2016 to four classifications to include 4A. The girls spent just three seasons with one classification before expanding to two in 1996. Girls' soccer expanded to three classes in 2010 and to the present four classifications in 2016.

The championships were held at multiple sites in the same years, finding sites that were neutral for each of the schools competing was a challenge. The soccer championships have been held at ten different sites: Reading (1973-1980, Shippensburg University (1981-85, 1988-94, 1996-97), Cedar Crest High School (1986-87), Northern Lebanon County High School (1987), Marple Newtown High School (1988), O.J. Roberts High School (1992), Mansion Park (1995), Messiah College (1996), HersheyPark Stadium (1997-21), and Cumberland Valley High School (2022-present).

# **PIAA Soccer Championship host sites:**

25: HersheyPark Stadium 14: Shippensburg University

8: Reading

3: Cumberland Valley High School

2: Cedar Crest High School

2: Messiah College

1: Northern Lebanon County High School

1: Marple Newtown High School

1: O.J. Roberts High School

1: Mansion Park

Girls' soccer began with two sports seasons. It was the only sport to be offered in different seasons. For the first 19 years, schools could decide whether to play in the fall or in the spring.

The final spring soccer championship was held in 2012 before the Board of Directors approved of moving all competition to one season, the fall. From 2007 to 2010, there were two classifications, 2A and 3A. While girls' soccer was played in the spring, there were 15 different champions: (Central Bucks West (1993-1996, 2003, 2006-07), Emmaus (1997), Council Rock (1998, 2002), Pennsbury (1999), Hempfield (2000), Penn Manor (2002, 2005), Council Rock South (2004), Dallas (2007), Central Dauphin (2007-08), Lancaster Mennonite (2008), Lower Dauphin (2009), Donegal (2009-10), Hershey (2010), Cumberland Valley (2011-12). There were two co-champions in 2002 and 2007.

### **4A Boys Team Champions:**

- 4 4A Boys' teams have won titles
- 4: Conestoga (2016-17, 2021, 2023)
- 2: Seneca Valley (2020, 2022)
- 1: North Penn (2019), Pennridge (2020)

# **4A Girls Team Champions:**

- 6 4A Girls' teams have won titles
- 1: Canon McMillan (2016), Norwin (2017), Souderton (2018), Boyertown (2019), Moon (2021), Pennridge (2023)

## **3A Boys Team Champions:** Four teams have won back-to-back titles.

- 35 3A Boys' teams have won titles
- 5: Strath Haven (1986, 1991, 1995-96, 2001)
- 4: Upper St. Clair (2003-04, 2012-13)
- 3: Downingtown (1989, 1998-99), Lower Dauphin (2016-17, 2018)
- 2: ELCO (1977, 1979), Fleetwood (1978, 1980), Neshaminy (1984, 1994), Conestoga (1988, 2011), Peters Township (2007, 2014)
- 1: West Synder (1973), Middleburg (1974), Liberty (1975), State College (1976), Mount Lebanon (1981), Neshaminy Longhorn (1982), Freedom (1983), Council Rock (1985), Lower Merion (1987), Fox Chapel (1990), Wilson (1992), Great Valley (1993), Coughlin (1997), North Allegheny (2000), WC Henderson (2002), Warwick (2005), Council Rock North (2006), Downingtown West (2008), Father Judge (2009), Hempfield (2010), CB East (2015), West Allegheny (2018), Mars (2020), Hampton (2021), Hershey (2022), Cathedral Prep (2023)
- **3A Girls Team Champions:** West Chester Henderson and Peters Township have won the most consecutive titles with three.
  - 17 3A Girls' teams have won titles
- 4: WC Henderson (1995, 1997-99)
- 3: Downingtown West (2004, 2006, 2009), Peters Township (2010-12), Moon (2016-17, 2023), Mars (2019-21)
- 2: Villa Joseph Marie (1993, 2018), Downingtown (2000-01), Conestoga (2007-08)
- 1: Mount Lebanon (1992), Great Valley (1994), Norwin (1996), Strath Haven (2002), Owen J. Roberts (2003), Pine-Richland (2005), Neshaminy (2013), CB West (2014), Upper St. Clair (2015)

#### 2A Boys Team Champions:

- 21 2A Boys' teams have won titles; Quaker Valley had a stretch of winning four titles in six years.
- 8: Quaker Valley (1985, 1991, 1993, 1995-96, 2017, 2019, 2021)
- 3: ELCO (1987, 1998, 2003), Holy Ghost Prep (1992, 2013-14), Lewisburg (2015-16, 2020)
- 2: Great Valley (1989-90), Octorara (1999, 2009), Fleetwood (2000, 2018), South Park (2005-06)
- 1: Tulpehocken (1987), Peters Township (1988), Wyomissing (1994), Sewickley Academy (1997),

Middletown (2001), Thomas Jefferson (2002), Radnor (2004), Palmyra (2007), Susquehannock (2008), Hampton (2010), Lancaster Mennonite (2011), Pequea Valley (2012), Camp Hill (2023)

# 2A Girls Team Champions: Villa Joseph Marie won eight titles in 12 years

18 - 2A Girls' teams have won titles; four schools have won two consecutive titles.

- 9: Villa Joseph Marie (1996, 1998, 2000-02, 2004-05, 2007, 2014)
- 2: Mercyhurst Prep (2010, 2017), Central Columbia (2022-23)
- 1: Strath Haven (1997), Radnor (1999), Sewickley Academy (2003), South Williamsport (2006), Montoursville (2008), Loyalsock (2009), Mars (2011), Moon (2012). Central Valley (2013), Villa Maria (2015), Trinity (2016), Bedford (2018), Lansdale Catholic (2019), Bloomsburg (2020), Allentown Central Catholic (2021)

#### **1A Boys Team Champions:**

14 - 1A Boys' teams have won titles; Christopher Dock won three titles in four years.

- 4: Christopher Dock (2002-03, 2005, 2009)
- 3: Sewickley Academy (2007, 2013, 2015)
- 2: Seton LaSalle (2006, 2008), New Hope-Solebury (2010-11), Moravian Academy (2014, 2019), Camp Hill (2016-17)
- 1: Lewisburg (2000), Tulpehocken (2001), Antietam (2004), Mountain View (2012), Millville (2018), Faith Christian (2020), Winchester Thurston (2021), Delco Christian (2023)

# **1A Girls Team Champions:**

6 - 1A Girls' teams have won titles; four schools have won consecutive titles.

- 4: Southern Columbia (2018, 2020-22)
- 2: Warrior Run (2010-11), Greensburg Central Catholic (2012-13), Trinity (2014-15)
- 1: Fairfield (2016), Shady Side (2017), Camp Hill (2019), Dock Mennonite (2023)

All media are asked to familiarize yourself with the PIAA Handbook, Section II Policy and Procedures, pages 97-102: <a href="http://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk">http://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk</a>. The championship schedule can be found <a href="https://tinyurl.com/sa3h7wyk">https://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk</a>. The championship schedule can be found <a href="https://tinyurl.com/sa3h7wyk">https://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk</a>. The championship schedule can be found <a href="https://tinyurl.com/sa3h7wyk">https://tinyurl.com/sa3h7wyk</a>. The championship schedule can be found <a href="https://tinyurl.com/sa3h7wyk">https://tinyurl.com/sa3h7wyk</a>.

Media Contact: Lyndsay A. Barna, lbarna@piaa.org

Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association, Inc. 550 Gettysburg Road \* P.O. Box 2008 Mechanicsburg, PA (800) 382-1392 \* (717) 697-0374 www.piaa.org

# **Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association**

Beginning in Pittsburgh, on December 29, 1913, PIAA was given the privilege of serving its member schools and registered officials by establishing policies and adopting contest rules that emphasize the educational values of interscholastic athletics, promote safe and sportsmanlike competition, and provide uniform standards for all interscholastic levels of competition.