

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

85th ANNUAL PIAA CROSS COUNTRY CHAMPIONSHIPS

MECHANICSBURG - The 2024 PIAA Cross Country Championships are scheduled to be contested at Parkview Cross Country Course, Hershey, Pa on Saturday, November 2, 2024. This is the 85th Annual Cross Country Championship.

The PIAA Cross Country Championships will see 1,613 student-athletes competing, representing 95 3A boys' teams, 91 3A girls' teams, 92 2A boys' teams, 85 2A girls' teams, 104 1A boys' teams, and 98 1A girls' teams.

In 1939, cross country was the sixth sport adopted by the PIAA. The championships have been held at eight different sites: Penn State University (1939-41, 1943-78, 1981, 1986-87, 1990, 1992, 1994-95, 1997-98), Altoona (1943), Fort Indiantown Gap (1979, 1988), Lehigh University(1980, 1982-85, 1989, 1993, 1999), Milton Hershey School (1991), Bucknell University (1996, 2000), HersheyPark Stadium White Field (2001-2005), and Parkview Cross Country Course (2006-present).

PIAA Cross Country Championships host sites:

49: Penn State University
18: Parkview CC Course
8: Lehigh University
5: Hersheypark Stadium White Field
2: Bucknell University
2: Fort Indiantown Gap
2: Milton Hershey
1: Altoona

At the inaugural PIAA Cross Country Championships in 1939, the first Team Champion was Altoona High School, scoring 67 points and narrowly edging out Norristown High School by one point. Boys' cross country began with one classification, 3A. It wasn't until 1963 that the sport split into two classifications: 2A and 3A. The first girls' championship was in 1975, starting with two classifications, right out the gates. Nearly four decades later, in 2012 cross country expanded two three classifications for both girls and boys.

The championships have been held at Parkview Cross Country Course since 2006. Parkview used to be an 18-hole golf course before the expansion of the Giant Center. With the weather changing the conditions of the course, it has been modified a few times, so there isn't an official course record. North Allegheny has won the most championships with 16 in the 3A boys' classification. The lowest score by a boys' team was Mt. Lebanon scoring 27 points in 1944 and the lowest score by a girls' team was Brentwood scoring 22 points in 1975.

3A Boys Team Champions: Tie in 1941 with Altoona and Mt. Lebanon

30 - 3A Boys' teams have won titles; Council Rock has won the most consecutive titles with four.

- 16: North Allegheny (1960-62, 1965, 1968, 1970-71, 1974, 1980, 1997, 2010, 2014, 2018, 2020-22)
- 12: Mt. Lebanon (1941, 1943-45, 1950, 1952-53, 1956-59, 1998)
- 10: Council Rock (1987-89, 1991-95, 1999, 2016)
- 6: West Chester Henderson (1996, 2002-03, 2009, 2012-13)
- 5: State College (1963, 1976, 1978, 1984, 1986)
- 4: Altoona (1939, 1941, 1951, 1954)
- 3: North Penn (2007-08, 2011)
- 2: Coatesville (2000, 2006), Cedar Cliff (2001, 2004), Downingtown West (2015, 2019)
- 1: Reading (1940), Aliquippa (1946), New Castle (1948), Ambridge (1949), Hickory (1955), Baldwin (1964), Warren (1966), Gateway (1967, 1982), Penn Hills (1969, 1972), Norwin (1973), William Tennent (1975), Punxsutawney (1977), North Hills (1979), Abington Heights (1981), Seneca Valley (1983), Bethel Park (1985), Central Catholic (1990), West Chester East (2005), La Salle College (2017), Council Rock North (2023)

2A Boys Team Champions: Tie in 1972 between Bellevue and Annville-Cleona

33 - 2A Boys' teams have won titles; Scranton Prep had an outstanding stretch in the early 2000s winning five titles in six years.

- 5: North East (1971, 1982, 1987-88, 2007), Twin Valley (1989, 1991-92, 1994-95), Scranton Prep (2000-02, 2004-05)
- 4: Neshannock (1969-70, 1975-76), Annville-Cleona (1972-74, 1977)
- 3: Exeter (1964, 1967-68), Greencastle-Antrim (1980-81, 1986), Lewisburg Area (2019-21)
- 2: York Catholic (1983, 1985), Union City (1996-97), Elk Lake (2008, 2010), York Suburban (2009, 2014), Dallas (2015-16)

1: Swarthmore (1963), Abington Heights (1965), Spring Grove (1966), Bellevue (1972), West York (1978), Meyers (1979), Oswayo Valley (1984), Hershey (1990), Lansdale Catholic (1993), St. Pius X (1998), Bishop Hafey (1999), Eisenhower (2003), West Middlesex (2006), Quaker Valley (2011), Pottsgrove (2012), Tunkhannock Area (2013), Wyomissing (2017), Greensburg Salem (2018), Grove City (2022), Hampton (2023)

1A Boys Team Champions:

- 9 1A Boys' teams have won titles.
- 3: Winchester Thurston (2014, 2016, 2019)
- 2: Jenkintown (2018, 2020)

1: Northeast Bradford (2012), Saegertown (2013), Camp Hill (2015), Penns Valley (2017), Hughesville (2021), Central Cambria (2022), Annville-Cleona (2023)

3A Girls Team Champions:

20 - 3A Girls' teams have won titles; North Allegheny has won the most consecutive titles with six.

- 9: North Allegheny (1975, 1998-99, 2018-23)
- 5: State College (1979-81, 1991, 1994), Pennsbury (2010-12, 2014-15)
- 3: Council Rock (1976, 1978, 1984), Altoona (1982-83, 1988), Williamsport (1986-87, 1991)

2: Chambersburg (1977, 1989), Solanco (1990, 1997), Kiski Area (1995-96), Hatboro-Horsham (2002-03), Unionville (2004, 2013)

1: Abington (1985), Greensburg Salem (1993), Parkland (2000), Allentown Central Catholic (2001) Greater Latrobe (2005), Radnor (2006), Emmaus (2007-09), Cardinal O'Hara (2016), Fox Chapel (2017)

2A Girls Team Champions:

25 - 2A Girls' teams have won titles: Perkiomen Valley and Wyomissing are tied for winning the most consecutive titles with four.

- 5: Perkiomen Valley (1978-81, 1984)
- 4: North East (1982-83, 1987, 1989), Wyomissing (1999-02) Central Cambria (2007-09, 2018)
- 3: Danville (1991, 2017, 2023), Dallas (2003, 2005, 2013), Saint Basil Academy (2004, 2006, 2011), Villa Maria (10) (2014-16)
- 2: Titusville (1977, 1994), Ellwood City (1992-93), Brookville (1995-96)
- 1: Brentwood (1975), Mars (1976), Greencastle-Antrim (1985), Chief Logan (1986), Richland (1988), Gwynedd Mercy (1990), Wellsboro (1997), Hanover Area (1998), Elk Lake (2010), Palmyra (2012), South Fayette (2019), Warrior Run (2020), Montour (2021), Cathedral Prep (2022)

1A Girls Team Champions:

- 9 1A Girls' teams have won titles: St. Joesph's Catholic and Notre Dame Green Pond are tied for winning the most consecutive titles with two.
- 3: St. Joseph's Catholic (2015-16, 2019)
- 2: Notre Dame Green Pond (2021-22)
- 1: Elk Lake (2012), Holy Cross (2013), Central Cambria (2014), Fairview (2017), Marion Center (2018), Penns Valley (2020), Elk County Catholic (2023)

All media is asked to familiarize yourself with the PIAA Handbook, Section II Policy and Procedures, pages 97-102: <u>http://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk</u>. The championship schedule can be found <u>here</u> and a full list of any <u>previous championship results</u>.

Media Contact: Lyndsay A. Barna, 717-697-0374 or lbarna@piaa.org

Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association, Inc. 550 Gettysburg Road * P.O. Box 2008 Mechanicsburg, PA (800) 382-1392 * (717) 697-0374 www.piaa.org

Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association

Beginning in Pittsburgh, on December 29, 1913, PIAA was given the privilege of serving its member schools and registered officials by establishing policies and adopting contest rules that emphasize the educational values of interscholastic athletics, promote safe and sportsmanlike competition, and provide uniform standards for all interscholastic levels of competition.