

#### **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:**

# 49th ANNUAL PIAA SOFTBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS

MECHANICSBURG - The 2024 PIAA Softball Championships are scheduled to be contested at Beard Field, Penn State University, University Park, PA starting Thursday, June 13<sup>th</sup>, 2024, through Friday, June 14<sup>th</sup>, 2024. This is the 49<sup>th</sup> Annual PIAA Softball Championship.

PIAA began sponsoring softball in 1975 and held its first championship at Ferreira Field, Topton, Berks County. Parkland HS won the inaugural title in 1975 with a 3-2 win over Coatesville HS. The championships have been held at five different sites: Ferreira Field (1975), Shippensburg University (1976-88, 1990-92, 1995-2010), Little League Park, Altoona (1989), Elm Park, Williamsport (1993-94), and Beard Field, Nittany Lion Softball Park, Penn State University (2011-present).

The PIAA Softball Championships started with one classification and quickly grew to 2A and 3A in 1979. Softball and baseball both expanded three more times since the sports adoption by the PIAA. In 1999, the first 1A championship was held. In 2005, 4A was added. Then, in 2017, stretching to six classifications.

### Results from the single classification in 1975-1978

Parkland (1975), North Penn (1976), Twin Valley (1977), State College (1978)

## 1A Softball Champions:

15 different 1A Champions have been crowned.

- 4: Minersville (1999, 2005, 2011, 2014
- 3: Williams Valley (2013, 2016, 2019),
- 2: Curwensville (2007, 2009), Blue Ridge (2004, 2006), West Greene (2017-18)
- 1: Canton (2000), Bishop O'Hara (2001), Penns Valley (2002), South Williamsport (2003), Vincentian Academy (2008), Chartiers Houston (2010), Fannett Medal (2012), Elk County Catholic (2015), Tri Valley (2021, 2023), Montgomery (2022)

#### 2A Softball Champions:

26 different 2A Champions have been crowned.

- 6: Minersville (1979-80, 1986-87, 1993, 2017)
- 3: Iroquois (1982-83, 1991), Kutztown (1984, 1997, 2002)

- 2: Northern Lehigh (1988, 1996), Leechburg (1992, 1995), Central Columbia (1994, 2014), Nanticoke (2003, 2010), Bald Eagle Area (2005, 2009), Phillipsburg-Osceola (2007, 2011), Neshannock (2012, 2022), Holy Redeemer (2015-16)
- 1: Tulpehocken (1981), Sto-Rox (1989), Bristol (1990), Carmichaels (1998), Canevin Catholic (1999), Valley View (2000), Fleetwood (2001), Mifflinburg (2004), Harbor Creek (2006), Loyalsock (2008), Brandywine Heights (2013), Upper Dauphin (2018), Frazier (2019), Lion Mountain (2021), Everett (2023)

### 3A Softball Champions:

36 different 3A Champions have been crowned.

- 3: Pennsbury (1984, 1993, 2001), Williamsport (1987, 1989, 1992)
- 2: North Penn (1981, 1985), Council Rock (1983, 1991), Chambersburg (1994, 1997), Parkland (1995, 1998), Susquehannock (2007-08)
- 1: Neshaminy Maple Point (1979), North Hills (1980), Shippensburg (1982), Northwestern Lehigh (1985), State College (1986), Ephrata (1988), William Allen (1990), Northampton (1996), Hempfield (7) (1999), Emmaus (2000), North Allegheny (2002), Neshaminy (2003), Shaler (2004), Ambridge (2005), Donegal (2006), Greencastle-Antrim (2009), Bellefonte (2010), Valley (2011), Big Spring (2012), Valley View (2013), Springfield Delco (2014), Bethlehem Catholic (2015), Yough (2016), South Park (2017), Holy Redeemer (2018), Pine Grove (2019), Mt. Pleasant (2021), Avonworth (2022), Mid Valley (2023)

## 4A Softball Champions:

15 different 4A Champions have been crowned.

- 2: Pennsbury (2005, 2007), Hatboro-Harsham (2008, 2011), Parkland (2009, 2015)
- 1: Shaler (2006), Mt. Lebanon (2010), Central Bucks South (2012), Canon McMillan (2013), Souderton (2014), Hempfield (7) (2016), Mt. Pleasant (2017), Punxsutawney (2018), West Perry (2019), Beaver Area (2021), Clearfield (2022), Blue Mountain (2023)

## **5A Softball Champions:**

5 different 5A Champions have been crowned.

- 2: Lampeter Strasburg (2018, 2021)
- 1: Donegal (2017), Penn Trafford (2019), Pittston Area (2022), Northern York (2023)

## 6A Softball Champions:

4 different 6A Champions have been crowned.

- 2: Hempfield (7) (2017-18), North Penn (2021, 2023)
- 1: Central Dauphin (2019), Spring-Ford (2022)

#### **Links to Brackets**

All media is asked to familiarize yourself with the PIAA Handbook, Section II Policy and Procedures, pages 97-102: <a href="http://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk">http://tinyurl.com/5a3h7wyk</a>. The championship schedule can be found here and a full list of any previous championship results.

Media Contact: Lyndsay A. Barna, 717-697-0374 or <a href="mailto:lbarna@piaa.org">lbarna@piaa.org</a>

Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association, Inc. 550 Gettysburg Road \* P.O. Box 2008 Mechanicsburg, PA (800) 382-1392 \* (717) 697-0374 www.piaa.org

## Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association

Beginning in Pittsburgh, on December 29, 1913, PIAA was given the privilege of serving its member schools and registered officials by establishing policies and adopting contest rules that emphasize the educational values of interscholastic athletics, promote safe and sportsmanlike competition, and provide uniform standards for all interscholastic levels of competition.