

PENNSYLVANIA INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION, INC.

550 Gettysburg Road • PO Box 2008 Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania 17055-0708 (800) 382-1392 • (717) 697-0374 FAX (717) 697-7721 • www.piaa.org

Ron Insinger Named NFHS Boys' Basketball Coach of the Year; Seven Pennsylvania Coaches Receive NFHS Sectional Coach of the Year Honors

Ron Insinger has been named National Boys' Basketball Coach of the Year for the 2020-2021 season by the NFHS (National Federation of High School Associations) Coaches Association. Insinger became the all-time winningest basketball coach in Pennsylvania last season having amassed over 984 career victories in over 47 seasons at Loyalsock Township Senior High School. Insinger's resume includes, 38 20-win seasons, 30 league titles, and 24 district titles, and during the 2020-2021 basketball season Loyalsock won their first PIAA 3A Boys' Basketball Championship. Insinger has been inducted into several PA Hall of Fames and has been the athletic director at Loyalsock High School for the past 16 years.

In addition to Insinger, seven Pennsylvania Coaches have been named NFHS Sectional Coaches of the Year. The NFHS is divided into eight geographical sections. Pennsylvania is a member of Section 2 – Mideast which includes the states of Delaware, Washington DC, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia. The following coaches have been named Sectional Coaches of the Year: **Todd Reagen**, Girls' Tennis (Spring-Ford HS); **Deena Pribonic** (McDowell HS), Competitive Spirit; **Ron Insinger**, Boys' Basketball (Loyalsock HS); **Mark Lyons**, Football (Central Valley HS); **Edward Cimoch**, Boys' Golf (Scranton Prep); **George Williams**, Boys' Soccer (Seneca Valley HS); **Stephen Duncheskie**, Boys' Swimming & Diving (La Salle College HS).

The NFHS receives nominations from its member state associations. State associations then contact their nominated coaches to complete an online profile through the NFHS highlighting their achievements. To be considered for sectional or national awards all coaches must complete the online profile.

A total of 660 coaches will be recognized this year through NFHS state, sectional, and national awards.

Following is a complete list of the 2020-2021 NFHS/PIAA Coaches of the Year.

Sport		Nominated Coach	High School
Boys	Football (11-Player)	Mark Lyons	Central Valley
	Basketball	Ron Insinger	Loyalsock
	Soccer	George Williams	Seneca Valley
	Wrestling	Kent Lane	Southern Columbia
	Cross Country	Ron Hess	Lewisburg Area
	Tennis	Harris Mailman	Lower Merion
	Golf	Edward Cimoch	Scranton Prep
	Swimming & Diving	Stephen Duncheskie	La Salle College
	Track & Field	Tom Donlan	Southern Columbia
	Baseball	William Cook	New Castle
	Boys Volleyball	Dave Machamer	Lower Dauphin
	Boys Lacrosse	Robert Allvord	Kennett

Girls	Basketball	Lisa Varano	Mount Carmel Area
	Volleyball	Shari Campbell	Clarion Area
	Soccer	Aaron Flook	Bloomsburg Area
	Cross Country	Cory Dufrene	Warrior Run
	Tennis	Todd Reagan	Spring-Ford
	Swimming & Diving	Sonya Whitman	Villa Maria
	Golf	Joe Sudimak	Unionville
	Track & Field	Kiki Bell	Central Bucks West
	Softball	Libby (Elizabeth) Gasior	North Hills
	Lacrosse	Lorraine Beers	Archbishop Carroll
	Field Hockey	Sue Butz-Stavin	Emmaus
All	Competitive Spirit	Deena Pribonic	McDowell

Click <u>here</u> to view the NFHS Press Release on National Coaches of the Year